logo
Thread Tools
Old 08-02-2018, 05:42 AM
jlv476 is offline
Find More Posts by jlv476
Registered User
Joined Aug 2018
9 Posts
Discussion
Spektrum Powersafe 12310T receiver HELP!

Hi,

Just signed up this forum. Some great info here. I am struggling. I have been getting into larger models and thought the new Spectrum Powersafe receiver looked a good option.

I am having an issue that several hours of trouble shooting with HH and even a return for warranty has not resolved. Issue is you plug in a servo and it jumps and twitches even at idle. Try to move it through its throw and its terrible with jerks and jumps. Would be completely unusable.

A few things...

Powering with 2 2s Fife batteries

DX9 radio

Have tried both 6180s and 6150s (the HV servos are actually a bit less jumpy)

Have tried moving the receiver away from any possible source of interference - no change

Have moved the radio 20-30 feet away - no change

Doe not matter on the channel that servo is pugged into the behaviour is the same

Changing the frame rate to 11ms actually improves the jumpy behaviour a little bit

As additional servos are plugged in the amount of twitch decreases proportionally and once 5-6 servos are connected the servo twitch is no longer visibly noticeable but small jumps can be felt if holding the servo

If pressure is applied to the servo by hand the servo pushes back not in a steady way like others I have tested but it pushed back in a jumping and jerky fashion

HH says nothing is wrong. They bench tested and feel it is woking correctly.

I am at a loss... Could not possibly put this in a plane

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
jlv476 is offline Find More Posts by jlv476
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old 08-02-2018, 06:07 AM
lrb75 is online now
Find More Posts by lrb75
Registered User
United States, VA, Springfield
Joined Aug 2010
48 Posts
Have you tried a different transmitter?
lrb75 is online now Find More Posts by lrb75
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-02-2018, 06:22 AM
Jason T is offline
Find More Posts by Jason T
Registered User
Canada, ON, Sudbury
Joined Sep 2015
234 Posts
Are you sure the batteries are good?
Jason T is offline Find More Posts by Jason T
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-02-2018, 07:30 AM
BarracudaHockey is offline
Find More Posts by BarracudaHockey
Multi Platform Pilot
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
United States, FL, Jacksonville
Joined Dec 2007
9,809 Posts
11ms only affects 4 channels and if you pair any with an aux channel like dual elevators it defaults to 22 so unless you're flying a quad or heli you might as well leave it at 22, that's not your problem.
BarracudaHockey is offline Find More Posts by BarracudaHockey
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-02-2018, 02:30 PM
ghoffman is offline
Find More Posts by ghoffman
Registered User
ghoffman's Avatar
New Hampshire, USA
Joined Nov 2009
8,133 Posts
Try those servos with another Rx?
ghoffman is offline Find More Posts by ghoffman
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-02-2018, 08:08 PM
camss69 is online now
Find More Posts by camss69
DDD
camss69's Avatar
Joined Dec 2006
1,677 Posts
Process of emimination, if the TX works fine on another model it’s not the TX, if the servos work fine on another model it’s not the servos, can you use the RX with another transmitter? Have you tried different batteries? Have you eliminated all servo extensions? If it’s none of those things then it must be a compatibility issue, you might need to swap servos or receiver or battery.. what about firmware updates? If the receiver can do firmware updates..
camss69 is online now Find More Posts by camss69
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-02-2018, 10:10 PM
2walla is offline
Find More Posts by 2walla
Registered User
2walla's Avatar
United States, WA, Walla Walla
Joined Apr 2007
2,351 Posts
Is this on the bench? with the servos and just the batteries plugged in? as stated abote i would test the servos and battery with another receiver then go back to the powersafe. When i have seen notchy behavior it has usually been a power issue- either a servo with a short in it or a bad battery.
2walla is offline Find More Posts by 2walla
Last edited by 2walla; 08-02-2018 at 10:16 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-03-2018, 05:16 AM
jlv476 is offline
Find More Posts by jlv476
Registered User
Joined Aug 2018
9 Posts
Thanks for all the quick replies and ideas.

I have tried one other radio a Dx8 with the same results

Tried different batteries

I have tried different servos

No servo extensions

Everything has been updated including the radio

Yes this is on the bench

I have a 9350 bound up at the same time and placed the 12 channel power safe out at the same time also bound to the same model. Sided by side the 12 channel does exactly as described while the 9 ch is normal. Swap the servos between them the problem stays with the receiver

*For full disclosure I was so completely convinced that it was the receiver I actually purchased a second 12310T. The new receiver behaves in the identical way!

To BarracudaHockey:

There is a noticeable reduction in the jitter when going from 22 to 11ms. Gets worse again when changing back to 22. Why do you think this is?
jlv476 is offline Find More Posts by jlv476
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-03-2018, 05:22 AM
jlv476 is offline
Find More Posts by jlv476
Registered User
Joined Aug 2018
9 Posts
Second to this possibly being a power related issue. I have noticed that the blue LED light flickers in sync along with the jitter.

There is servo jitter even with the servos just at idle, however, only if a raid that is bound tot he receiver is turned on. If only the receiver is powered then there is no jitter at idle and the blue LED remains solid.
jlv476 is offline Find More Posts by jlv476
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-03-2018, 07:49 AM
camss69 is online now
Find More Posts by camss69
DDD
camss69's Avatar
Joined Dec 2006
1,677 Posts
When you say you swapped servos have you tried a different make and model?

Same question with the batteries? Have you tried a different type? Regular 2s Lipo maybe
camss69 is online now Find More Posts by camss69
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-03-2018, 08:43 AM
mxcop is offline
Find More Posts by mxcop
Team Extreme/Team Horizon
mxcop's Avatar
Tuckerton, N.J.
Joined Mar 2006
1,557 Posts
Can you post a video of this actually happening? Have you tried another brand servo for comparison?

Lee
mxcop is offline Find More Posts by mxcop
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-03-2018, 04:28 PM
jlv476 is offline
Find More Posts by jlv476
Registered User
Joined Aug 2018
9 Posts
I have tried Spektrum's 6180s these are the normal voltage servo but I have been using then for everything in the past and run 2s LiFe packs with no issues. I picked up some 6150s which are the HV servos designed to run on 2s Lipo. The jitter is slightly better on the HV servo but only slightly. Yes I have tried a 2s Lipo and it made no difference.

I did have an old turnigy laying around and tried it. That one was the worst.

/var/folders/6z/s3dw03g5703_trb64kszn9vh0000gn/T/com.apple.iChat/Messages/Transfers/IMG_0138.mov
jlv476 is offline Find More Posts by jlv476
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-03-2018, 06:00 PM
jlv476 is offline
Find More Posts by jlv476
Registered User
Joined Aug 2018
9 Posts
so... I cannot figure out how to post a video??
jlv476 is offline Find More Posts by jlv476
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-03-2018, 06:17 PM
jlv476 is offline
Find More Posts by jlv476
Registered User
Joined Aug 2018
9 Posts
Posted a video of the issue on Youtube


IMG 0140 (0 min 45 sec)
jlv476 is offline Find More Posts by jlv476
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-03-2018, 06:41 PM
Jackdl is offline
Find More Posts by Jackdl
Registered User
United States, PA, Doylestown
Joined Oct 2012
185 Posts
I had this happen using a Spektrum 20310T receiver with MKS777A servos but only on the two aileron channels. I put these signal boosters: https://www.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXGDKX between the receiver and servo and it stopped the jumping. I had this problem a while ago using the original power safe receivers when they first came out. The jumping only occurred when I was using Hitec 7950 servos. There was no jumping when I used the same servos on a non-power safe receiver. I was informed by Hitec that the jumping was due to poor signal strength from the receiver.
Jackdl is offline Find More Posts by Jackdl
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message


Quick Reply
Message:


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools