logo
Thread Tools
Old 05-04-2007, 10:25 AM
Cracky is offline
Find More Posts by Cracky
WHATS CRACKALAKIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cracky's Avatar
Wentzville, MO
Joined Jan 2006
9,313 Posts
Re: 3D_Kid's new build.

good stuff....
Cracky is offline Find More Posts by Cracky
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old 05-04-2007, 10:29 AM
3D_Kid is offline
Find More Posts by 3D_Kid
Uber Contributor
Joined Dec 2006
715 Posts
Re: 3D_Kid's new build.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dgfick View Post
good stuff....
yes sir
3D_Kid is offline Find More Posts by 3D_Kid
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2007, 10:47 AM
3D_Kid is offline
Find More Posts by 3D_Kid
Uber Contributor
Joined Dec 2006
715 Posts
Re: 3D_Kid's new build.

Here's the link to the charger review I did: https://www.flyinggiants.com/reviews...hp?product=171
3D_Kid is offline Find More Posts by 3D_Kid
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2007, 10:53 AM
3D_Kid is offline
Find More Posts by 3D_Kid
Uber Contributor
Joined Dec 2006
715 Posts
Re: 3D_Kid's new build.

Here's a puzzle to me: Sometimes the Aileron Servo/Servos jitter make a kind-of a binding noise, but then stops. The rudder/elevator ones are fine though, any ideas? Thanks!
3D_Kid is offline Find More Posts by 3D_Kid
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2007, 11:47 AM
3D_Kid is offline
Find More Posts by 3D_Kid
Uber Contributor
Joined Dec 2006
715 Posts
Re: 3D_Kid's new build.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3D_Kid View Post
Here's a puzzle to me: Sometimes the Aileron Servo/Servos jitter make a kind-of a binding noise, but then stops. The rudder/elevator ones are fine though, any ideas? Thanks!
Turns out it is binding, caused by the EZ-Connectors being too tight against the servo arm, which makes the rod fixed in one location. The thing is, if I loosen them they might fall off in flight. I fixed the ailerons, but the dang elevator servo binding is causing one side of the elevator to go down more than it will go up.
3D_Kid is offline Find More Posts by 3D_Kid
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2007, 11:57 AM
3D_Kid is offline
Find More Posts by 3D_Kid
Uber Contributor
Joined Dec 2006
715 Posts
Re: 3D_Kid's new build.

OK, found the solution, drilled out the hole in the servo arm a little bigger, put the EZ conector back on, used blue locktite, then CA'd the little nut that keeps the ez connector on the arm. Now I got to go back and do this method to the ailerons and rudder as well to ensure smoothness.
3D_Kid is offline Find More Posts by 3D_Kid
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2007, 02:02 PM
3D_Kid is offline
Find More Posts by 3D_Kid
Uber Contributor
Joined Dec 2006
715 Posts
Re: 3D_Kid's new build.

Kool, now no more binding. Also just finished up the decals, looks awesome! Gonna fly tomorrow.
3D_Kid is offline Find More Posts by 3D_Kid
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2007, 04:03 PM
3D_Kid is offline
Find More Posts by 3D_Kid
Uber Contributor
Joined Dec 2006
715 Posts
Re: 3D_Kid's new build.

I've got a question about tomorrow, What will I need to do different when taking off, landing with an electric? I've always done glow and this is new. ALSO what do I need to do in a hover to get the sweet spot on the throttle to keep it from going up or down? Thanks, Ken.
3D_Kid is offline Find More Posts by 3D_Kid
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2007, 04:26 PM
Cracky is offline
Find More Posts by Cracky
WHATS CRACKALAKIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cracky's Avatar
Wentzville, MO
Joined Jan 2006
9,313 Posts
Re: 3D_Kid's new build.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3D_Kid View Post
what do I need to do in a hover to get the sweet spot on the throttle to keep it from going up or down?
this is the highly technical part........when your plane is pointed straight up at the sky you need to move your left thumb up if the plane is going down or move your left thumb down if the plane is going up. Thats the real trick to a hover.
Cracky is offline Find More Posts by Cracky
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2007, 04:52 PM
carrid02 is online now
Find More Posts by carrid02
Registered User
carrid02's Avatar
Abilene, TX
Joined Jan 2006
1,198 Posts
Re: 3D_Kid's new build.

hehe... smart ace.
carrid02 is online now Find More Posts by carrid02
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2007, 04:58 PM
carrid02 is online now
Find More Posts by carrid02
Registered User
carrid02's Avatar
Abilene, TX
Joined Jan 2006
1,198 Posts
Re: 3D_Kid's new build.

I think you should fly it a bunch until you get a feel for where the plane hovers... then program the throttle curve to slow down when it gets close to the "hover power sweet spot"!!!

My 35%er was doing the same thing... up down up down... it wouldn't sit still. Then I programmed the throttle curve to slow down slightly around a hover... and it worked great.

Good luck.

Craig Rideout
carrid02 is online now Find More Posts by carrid02
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2007, 05:03 PM
Cracky is offline
Find More Posts by Cracky
WHATS CRACKALAKIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cracky's Avatar
Wentzville, MO
Joined Jan 2006
9,313 Posts
Re: 3D_Kid's new build.

Quote:
Originally Posted by carrid02 View Post
hehe... smart ace.
yes sir!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by carrid02 View Post
I think you should fly it a bunch until you get a feel for where the plane hovers... then program the throttle curve to slow down when it gets close to the "hover power sweet spot"!!
this is correct, every plane is different and you'll just have to "feel" where it needs to be flattened out a little to give you that sweet spot. I had a foamy doing that, one click up it would go vertical and one click down it would tailslide.
Cracky is offline Find More Posts by Cracky
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2007, 05:43 PM
3D_Kid is offline
Find More Posts by 3D_Kid
Uber Contributor
Joined Dec 2006
715 Posts
Re: 3D_Kid's new build.

I don't have a curve on my 6EXA though, so I'm SOL.
3D_Kid is offline Find More Posts by 3D_Kid
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2007, 05:49 PM
3D_Kid is offline
Find More Posts by 3D_Kid
Uber Contributor
Joined Dec 2006
715 Posts
Re: 3D_Kid's new build.

Holy Crap!! This Graphing program has maxed out my Dual Core Intel CPU!! My laptop fan is on which usually isn't; this is hot. All CPU, but hardly any memory.
3D_Kid is offline Find More Posts by 3D_Kid
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2007, 05:51 PM
3D_Kid is offline
Find More Posts by 3D_Kid
Uber Contributor
Joined Dec 2006
715 Posts
Re: 3D_Kid's new build.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3D_Kid View Post
Holy Crap!! This Graphing program has maxed out my Dual Core Intel CPU!! My laptop fan is on which usually isn't; this is hot. All CPU, but hardly any memory.
No wonder!, I just read the instructions, it requires AT LEAST 3.1GHZ!! My laptop was new this past August, it's like a 2.0 ghz dual core. I can't believe this thing.
3D_Kid is offline Find More Posts by 3D_Kid
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message


Quick Reply
Message:


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aviation Design(Godfrey) 35% Extra 260 BUILD THREAD GremlinX Build Threads 101 03-06-2019 07:07 PM
Build: Kimball-Somenzini Python 100 Reza Build Threads 570 10-29-2017 02:57 PM
Aerotech 42% - Twin Build Fixed Wing Build Threads 175 12-13-2009 11:48 PM
Ultimate Carden 260 Build by LJJ LJJ Build Threads 330 03-25-2009 11:40 AM
H9 35% 260....its cheating to call it a build thread!!!!! Cracky Build Threads 105 09-04-2008 10:48 AM