logo
Old 11-11-2019, 10:34 PM
Find More Posts by ROFF
United States, TX, Heath
Joined Oct 2015
137 Posts
Discussion
3w engine questions and help

Hi all. Picked up these two 3w twins for a great price. The 106 has never seen fuel and the 100 has hardly been run. Only got one ignition with these and Iím not sure if it works. I also believe the rotation is reversed because of the arrow and when I do a rough check of the timing (either magnet) it seems to make more sense.

Any 3w gurus who can give me some advise on changing the direction and converting to a RCExL ignition? I have plenty of experience with more conventional engines but never have had a 3w.

Also, how does the 2 magnet hub work?

TIA
Brandon
ROFF is offline Find More Posts by ROFF
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
to remove ads between posts
Old 11-11-2019, 10:58 PM
Find More Posts by 2walla
United States, WA, Walla Walla
Joined Apr 2007
2,339 Posts
rc extremepower or c&h can fix you up as failed 3w ignitions were common due to overheating. rc extremepower has brackets that will direct bolt up for either hub type to usee either rcexel or c&h ignition. The two magnet hub has one at top dead center and the other about 55 degrees before. it uses the two magnets to sense the rpm rate curve advances the spark based on the rpm
2walla is offline Find More Posts by 2walla
Old 11-11-2019, 11:42 PM
Find More Posts by ROFF
United States, TX, Heath
Joined Oct 2015
137 Posts
Thanks.

So using the new bracket will pickup about 28* BTDC? Either magnet? Are they the same?
Old 11-12-2019, 07:12 AM
Find More Posts by Marvan Maxwell
United States, CO, Greeley
Joined Feb 2006
581 Posts
Call and talk to the G man at Aircraft International , He will fix you up. http://www.aircraftinternational.com/
Marvan Maxwell is offline Find More Posts by Marvan Maxwell
Old 11-12-2019, 08:59 AM
Find More Posts by Bunky F. Knuckle
Just your Average Joe.
Joined Jan 2006
8,494 Posts