Old 04-23-2019, 12:50 PM
Find More Posts by gobigdave
IMAC NE RD
United States, VA, Gainesville
Joined Jan 2007
374 Posts
Discussion
Snap roll on entry to loop

I'm new to Intermediate this year, and I have a question regarding the snap in maneuver 4 (outside half loop with outside snap on entry and 2-pt roll on exit).

My issue is that I'm expecting some form of path deviation when I exit the snap. Normally, you get a chance to quickly correct and get back to a parallel path without penalty, but how does that work when the snap is on entry to a loop? I thought the criteria is any pause of more than a plane length is a penalty, but that conflicts with giving me a chance to correct the deviation after a snap. I know the correction after the snap has to be quick, but a correction happening inside a plane length will be tough. At 60mph, that's close to 90ft/s, so my correction would have to be within 0.1s.

Don't correct path deviation after snap and loose points because I don't enter loop level and in a parallel flight path or loose points because I went more than a plane length after the snap before pushing into the loop.

What's the expectation?
gobigdave is offline Find More Posts by gobigdave
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
to remove ads between posts
Old 04-23-2019, 01:44 PM
Find More Posts by kwilson
Drone pilot since 1979
Jacksonville, FL
Joined May 2006
1,242 Posts
I suggest doing the snap and immediately start the half loop. You will be better off that way than risking a 2 point deduction for drawing the line. Eventually you will find yourself correcting during the very first part of the arc.
kwilson is offline Find More Posts by kwilson
Old 04-23-2019, 01:56 PM
Find More Posts by TazmanianDevil
No Guts No Glory!
Israel, Jerusalem District, Jerusalem
Joined Jan 2006
1,728 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwilson View Post