logo
Old 01-21-2019, 12:48 PM
Find More Posts by Mooney 78865
Joined Dec 2018
32 Posts
Discussion
How to regulate snap roll speeds?

So, I'm new to IMAC and am flying a 38% Giles 202 with a 120. As this is my first foray into IMAC I'm curious on how folks are controlling their speed going into a snap maneuver. I've been practicing the Intermediate sequence and there are three snaps. One on a uphill 45 line, another inverted on a horizontal line, (the hardest to manage) and another on a down line. Obviously, speed dictates everything. On my F3A plane I have a "brake" to regulate down line snaps so I'm generally very consistent on entries. I'm using the trainer switch for the snap function.
Anyway, I'm curious. At least the wife and I have learned to read the Aresti symbols! Sorta...
Mooney 78865 is offline Find More Posts by Mooney 78865
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
to remove ads between posts
Old 01-22-2019, 05:55 PM
Find More Posts by ajflys
NO not that AJ
United States, CA, Pasadena
Joined Jul 2014
105 Posts
I don't recommend using a snap switch personally, especially if you are looking at doing intermediate or higher. Using sticks to do the snaps will allow you to "fly" the snap to get consistent rates during everything. You'll be able to use more or less of each input in order to get the rates that you're looking for. generally how much elevator and rudder you use will dictate the depth of the snap, and somewhat dictate the speed (providing of course it's still a snap by the rules).

My 2 cents.

A.J.
ajflys is offline Find More Posts by ajflys
Old 01-23-2019, 12:52 AM
Find More Posts by super rookie
United States, AZ, Tucson
Joined Sep 2009
846 Posts
AJ is right but being an older pilot I use a boost condition rather than try to get my sticks
to snap as I want them to. On my 18mz, when I hit full rudder and full aileron, my ailerons
boost up to a higher level and my rudder and elevator drop back automatically to a