logo
Old 12-22-2016, 10:01 AM
Find More Posts by BHFG
United States, GA, Dacula
Joined Oct 2015
255 Posts
Question
Multi-Battery AC/DC Charger Questions and Recommendations

I have read the other threads about charger recommendations, but they leave me with some other questions in looking for a new charger.

My main question is on capacity. Is 6S capability enough, or should I plan for more? I am new to giant scale and right now have one 73" plane that uses 6S, but I foresee wanting to go to bigger airframes over time. I have seen some $$$ chargers that go up to 14S, but is that really overkill or pretty realistic?

Beyond that I am looking for recommendations for a new charger/balancer that meets this criteria:
- Multi battery capability (at least 2 at a time, but up to 4)
- At least 6S capacity (maybe more depending on recommendations here)
- AC/DC Input (12v)
- Built in Charge/Balance/Discharge/Store routines
- Programmable charge rates
- Support for EC3, Deans' or other battery connectors (looks like most use banana plugs anyway)
- Support for Lipo/Life/NimH and NiCad with Lead Acid support a plus
- Ability to pack it up and take it to the field with me

My budget is low as possible, of course, but would like to stay under $350 if possible.

Any recommendations?
BHFG is offline Find More Posts by BHFG
Last edited by BHFG; 12-22-2016 at 11:04 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
to remove ads between posts
Old 12-22-2016, 10:14 AM
Find More Posts by jharkin
United States, MA, Holliston
Joined Jul 2007
659 Posts
Are you really going to get big electrics? or fly your big planes on gas and keep electric for the small/mid stuff?

That is the first decision you need to make.