logo
Thread Tools
Old 04-06-2008, 09:13 AM
crash-n-burn is offline
Find More Posts by crash-n-burn
Registered User
crash-n-burn's Avatar
United States, FL, Lakeland
Joined Feb 2008
2,074 Posts
PowerBox Smoke Pump Level -vs- Smoke Tank

Quick question :

I have a powerbox smoke pump it says in the mannual , " the pump is self priming so it must always be installed higher than the smoke tank ". Whats the deal if its self priming it shouldn't matter. Any ideas, anyone installed this thing below the level of the smoke tank, any problems w/ that ?

Thanks
crash-n-burn is offline Find More Posts by crash-n-burn
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old 04-06-2008, 01:09 PM
torquen is offline
Find More Posts by torquen
Registered User
torquen's Avatar
Lodi, Ca. USA
Joined Jan 2006
1,628 Posts
Re: PowerBox Smoke Pump Level -vs- Smoke Tank

The PowerBox pump is so powerful that you don't need to worry about location. The best setup would be above the tank but I have had mine below and behind without any problems. Most of the other pumps are so weak and loose prime that location is very critical. You wont have to worry about this with the PowerBox pump.
Garrett Morrison
torquen is offline Find More Posts by torquen
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2008, 01:22 PM
crash-n-burn is offline
Find More Posts by crash-n-burn
Registered User
crash-n-burn's Avatar
United States, FL, Lakeland
Joined Feb 2008
2,074 Posts
Re: PowerBox Smoke Pump Level -vs- Smoke Tank

Awesome thanks man, any advice on set up, i am going to run the pump power and servo functions off my reciever.

> Also the manual says to only run it continously for no more than 4 mins whats up w/ that, finally what size smoke tank are you using ?
crash-n-burn is offline Find More Posts by crash-n-burn
Last edited by crash-n-burn; 04-06-2008 at 01:33 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2008, 01:34 PM
Reza is offline
Find More Posts by Reza
Registered User
Reza's Avatar
Aliso Viejo, CA
Joined Jan 2006
4,400 Posts
Re: PowerBox Smoke Pump Level -vs- Smoke Tank

It will be your best smoke pump
Reza is offline Find More Posts by Reza
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2008, 01:39 PM
sweetpea is offline
Find More Posts by sweetpea
If you can't HUCK it BLING IT!
sweetpea's Avatar
United States, OH, Lebanon
Joined Jan 2006
11,221 Posts
Re: PowerBox Smoke Pump Level -vs- Smoke Tank

Quote:
Originally Posted by crash-n-burn View Post
Awesome thanks man, any advice on set up, i am going to run the pump power and servo functions off my reciever.

> Also the manual says to only run it continously for no more than 4 mins whats up w/ that, finally what size smoke tank are you using ?
4mins so it won't overheat and ruin the inside parts. I'm not familiar with the unit so if it has the option to mix it to throttle so it doesn't run at full speed at full throttle you won't have to worry about the restriction as much.

Not only that it looks better if you can use smoke at the right spots during a flight and not just open the whole time.

Most guys run the same size or one size smaller smoke tank as compared to the gas tank.
sweetpea is offline Find More Posts by sweetpea
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2008, 01:44 PM
crash-n-burn is offline
Find More Posts by crash-n-burn
Registered User
crash-n-burn's Avatar
United States, FL, Lakeland
Joined Feb 2008
2,074 Posts
Re: PowerBox Smoke Pump Level -vs- Smoke Tank

thanks, i am going to mix the throttle / smoke and program an on - off switch, I was thinking of using a 12 ounce fuel tank for smoke, the stock fuel tank is 20 ounces.
crash-n-burn is offline Find More Posts by crash-n-burn
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2008, 05:06 PM
torquen is offline
Find More Posts by torquen
Registered User
torquen's Avatar
Lodi, Ca. USA
Joined Jan 2006
1,628 Posts
Re: PowerBox Smoke Pump Level -vs- Smoke Tank

I run a 24 ounce tank for smoke. This gets me through a 4 min freestyle when using the smoke in certain points during the routine. If you were to turn on the pump for 4 mins straight you would burn 50 ounces of fluid.

You can mix the pump with your throttle. I found that I am only using about 50% of the pumps rpm at full power on a 170cc engine.
Garrett Morrison
torquen is offline Find More Posts by torquen
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message


Quick Reply
Message:


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Smoke Setup: How To 3Dkid330 Gas Engines 6 03-18-2012 02:27 AM
Smoke tank in 2.6 extra? psk560 General Discussion 1 03-04-2008 07:57 PM
Can the PowerBox Smoke pump be used with a Power expander Jason Michael General Discussion 2 02-07-2008 12:18 AM
PowerBox smoke pump help please Juan_Acro3D General Discussion 0 09-05-2007 05:41 AM
Speed Controller with TME Smoke pump Billa Gas Engines 2 09-04-2006 03:11 AM