logo
Old 01-15-2006, 07:42 PM
Find More Posts by jetcat7
torquemonster
Southern USA
Joined Jan 2006
11 Posts
Tuned cans or stockers?

I have been designing and flying giant scale for a few years now. I have a friend that flies the Don Lowe Masters with a set of tuned canisters and a 3 blade on his rig.....40% Comp.Arf. Is there a distinct advantage to the stock type cans the TOC boys always use for freestyle/3-D ? My old,heavy 3-w 150 likes the stock , noisy cans. Always ran lean on tuned canisters at start up. I am not looking for a "your engine is lean/carb leaking" answer as this is not a problem. Looking for a competition solution....untill then I'll keep burning jet A. There must be a reason for this at the major events...very few tuned canisters in big birds.
C'Ya at the Nall
jetcat7 is offline Find More Posts by jetcat7
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
to remove ads between posts
Old 01-15-2006, 08:56 PM
Find More Posts by Diablo
Hammond, Indiana
Joined Jan 2006
498 Posts
Re: Tuned cans or stockers?

Tuned cans require tuning. Not everyone has the skills to get it right. The header length has to be matched to the engine and prop. Done right, you'll get more power, good throttle response, less noise, more weight, more cost.
Done wrong, you'll get less power, poor throttle response, less noise, more weight, more cost, a hotter running engine, and broken headers.

In-cowl mufflers are the set it and forget it approach - requires no fiddling and a lot less planning and testing. Also have the advantage of lower weight, less cost, and more durability. You can't win a contest with a broken exhaust.
Diablo is offline Find More Posts by Diablo
Old 01-15-2006, 09:23 PM
Find More Posts by kevgofly
Marysville, WA
Joined Jan 2006
438 Posts