logo
Thread Tools
Old 12-03-2018, 06:28 AM
orthobird is offline
Find More Posts by orthobird
I hammer at 1500 feet
orthobird's Avatar
United States, LA, Shreveport
Joined Apr 2012
8,237 Posts
Discussion
New Futaba Servos, anyone try one yet? : Futaba HPS-A700 Servo

Anyone try one of these bad boys?

Futaba HPS-A700 Servo


The Futaba USA WS claims the following:

torque at 6 volts is 875 ou/in

and torque at 7.4 volts is 1028 ou/in

and only 249 dollars!!!

the servo case looks like one of those XPERT servos???
Could it be TGTB???


I wonder what the torque would be at 8.0 volts? And was it not tested there? Which is the voltage of a fully charged 2S lipo battery


anyone have any data / experience / info???
orthobird is offline Find More Posts by orthobird
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old 12-03-2018, 06:31 AM
orthobird is offline
Find More Posts by orthobird
I hammer at 1500 feet
orthobird's Avatar
United States, LA, Shreveport
Joined Apr 2012
8,237 Posts
XPERT servo case?

Any similarity?
orthobird is offline Find More Posts by orthobird
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2018, 06:49 AM
ponyboy082662 is offline
Find More Posts by ponyboy082662
wrongwayfeldman
ponyboy082662's Avatar
United States, AL, Florence
Joined Mar 2010
2,430 Posts
Wow....thoes specs are almost as good as the old giant Seiko servo numbers but in a standard size case.... awesome
ponyboy082662 is offline Find More Posts by ponyboy082662
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2018, 06:57 AM
orthobird is offline
Find More Posts by orthobird
I hammer at 1500 feet
orthobird's Avatar
United States, LA, Shreveport
Joined Apr 2012
8,237 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ponyboy082662 View Post
Wow....thoes specs are almost as good as the old giant Seiko servo numbers but in a standard size case.... awesome
I know it! what do you think, too good to be true?

Would be great if Gary could get one and test it.
orthobird is offline Find More Posts by orthobird
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2018, 06:59 AM
orthobird is offline
Find More Posts by orthobird
I hammer at 1500 feet
orthobird's Avatar
United States, LA, Shreveport
Joined Apr 2012
8,237 Posts
Here is another thought, if that bad boy has all that torque, then could you imagine using only one of these for the rudder servo on a 40%er airplane?
and using only one of these per each aileron?

No more binding issues and less weight!
orthobird is offline Find More Posts by orthobird
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2018, 07:29 AM
super rookie is offline
Find More Posts by super rookie
Registered User
United States, AZ, Tucson
Joined Sep 2009
914 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by orthobird View Post
Here is another thought, if that bad boy has all that torque, then could you imagine using only one of these for the rudder servo on a 40%er airplane?
and using only one of these per each aileron?

No more binding issues and less weight!
Hi Cam, at first I was thinking how silly to spend the bucks on torque we'll never really use but using a single servo rather than two is a very nice thought. And they do look conspicuously similar to the other brand.....
super rookie is offline Find More Posts by super rookie
Last edited by super rookie; 12-03-2018 at 07:36 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2018, 07:29 AM
jamesrxx951 is offline
Find More Posts by jamesrxx951
Registered User
jamesrxx951's Avatar
toledo ohio
Joined Jan 2009
10,519 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by orthobird View Post
Here is another thought, if that bad boy has all that torque, then could you imagine using only one of these for the rudder servo on a 40%er airplane?
and using only one of these per each aileron?

No more binding issues and less weight!
The concern I would have with using only 1 is all that load and force would be on one control horn and glue joint. Running 2 servos splits that load in half. The same as using one aileron service on a big plane.
jamesrxx951 is offline Find More Posts by jamesrxx951
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2018, 07:30 AM
jamesrxx951 is offline
Find More Posts by jamesrxx951
Registered User
jamesrxx951's Avatar
toledo ohio
Joined Jan 2009
10,519 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by orthobird View Post
XPERT servo case?

Any similarity?
Are those any good? I don't know if I have heard anything about that brand of servo.
jamesrxx951 is offline Find More Posts by jamesrxx951
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2018, 07:31 AM
ponyboy082662 is offline
Find More Posts by ponyboy082662
wrongwayfeldman
ponyboy082662's Avatar
United States, AL, Florence
Joined Mar 2010
2,430 Posts
I totally agree Ortho.....thoes numbers are fantastic. I can totally see using only one on Rudder but the reason we use 2 on ailerons isn't so much for the big numbers as much as it is for spreading the load. Having said that , it looks like gang servos for Rudder may soon be a thing of the past !

HAHA...JAMES BEAT ME TO IT WHILE TYPING...LOL
ponyboy082662 is offline Find More Posts by ponyboy082662
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2018, 09:21 AM
ghoffman is online now
Find More Posts by ghoffman
Registered User
ghoffman's Avatar
New Hampshire, USA
Joined Nov 2009
8,087 Posts
I’ll believe it when someone independent tests it.
ghoffman is online now Find More Posts by ghoffman
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2018, 01:38 PM
japan3d is offline
Find More Posts by japan3d
Mr. Cessna
japan3d's Avatar
Japan, Ibaraki-ken, Sashima-gun
Joined Jan 2006
2,141 Posts
I got three I'm putting on a Pilot RC 122" Yak 55, one per elevator and one on rudder. Waiting on some items from the states to finish.
japan3d is offline Find More Posts by japan3d
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2018, 05:29 PM
haribo is offline
Find More Posts by haribo
Registered User
haribo's Avatar
Joined Dec 2016
578 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesrxx951 View Post
Are those any good? I don't know if I have heard anything about that brand of servo.
because they don't invest a lot of money on advertising. make use of the forum search engine
haribo is offline Find More Posts by haribo
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2018, 08:04 PM
orthobird is offline
Find More Posts by orthobird
I hammer at 1500 feet
orthobird's Avatar
United States, LA, Shreveport
Joined Apr 2012
8,237 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesrxx951 View Post
Are those any good? I don't know if I have heard anything about that brand of servo.
Yes, I have about 6 of them. They are very precise and strong.

No complaints from me on them.
orthobird is offline Find More Posts by orthobird
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2018, 08:05 PM
orthobird is offline
Find More Posts by orthobird
I hammer at 1500 feet
orthobird's Avatar
United States, LA, Shreveport
Joined Apr 2012
8,237 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by japan3d View Post
I got three I'm putting on a Pilot RC 122" Yak 55, one per elevator and one on rudder. Waiting on some items from the states to finish.
YEs, exactly! That is such an advantage

please let us know how they work out for you!
orthobird is offline Find More Posts by orthobird
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2018, 08:12 PM
orthobird is offline
Find More Posts by orthobird
I hammer at 1500 feet
orthobird's Avatar
United States, LA, Shreveport
Joined Apr 2012
8,237 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesrxx951 View Post
The concern I would have with using only 1 is all that load and force would be on one control horn and glue joint. Running 2 servos splits that load in half. The same as using one aileron service on a big plane.
Ok, i totally appreciate that.

But, one or two seasons ago, I was at an IMAC contest and we had over 3 or 4 Unlimited Pilots at the contest. I was talking to one, whom had a 40% aircraft, and he was flying each aileron with one SAvox servo!!
I was blown away, and seeing him do his snaps and stopping at a dime, I was just totally amazes. No blow by either.

The set up is so critical. Meaning, the servo arm distance ratio to the control horn distance to the hinge line, has to be in favor of less throw and more torque. I can explain if anyone needs me to.

In any event, I used to think the same as you, that you need at least two servos to spread out the load.

Anyways, I am willing to test this servo in a 40% aircraft and for me to use only one aileron servo on each wing.


BTW, i remember, I own this 35% sized cap, and i flew the airplane with only one aileron servo one day, and it had done perfectly well. NO problem. Anyways, these new modern servos with metal gears are a total game changer.

I was using 6 volts JR 8711 servos on that Cap. I still have the airplane!
orthobird is offline Find More Posts by orthobird
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message


Quick Reply
Message:


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools