logo
Thread Tools
Old 05-15-2019, 03:21 PM
cotman007 is offline
Find More Posts by cotman007
Registered User
United States, FL, Summerfield
Joined Dec 2011
184 Posts
Discussion
Switches

setting up a new plane. I'm using Batshare with 3 2500 mHa NiMH 6.0v batteries. I normally I use 3 switches, 2 for the batteries and 1 for the ignition.My question is, can I use 1 switch for the batteries if I use a Y connecter that way I can eliminate 1 switch. It's kind of tight in the fuse. if I have to use 3 switches.
As always, thanks for any advice.
cotman007 is offline Find More Posts by cotman007
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old 05-15-2019, 05:29 PM
airboss/oc is offline
Find More Posts by airboss/oc
Registered User
airboss/oc's Avatar
Joined Aug 2007
5,913 Posts
NiMh ? really what about LiFe or LiPo ? those batts will cost you a plane.
airboss/oc is offline Find More Posts by airboss/oc
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-15-2019, 05:46 PM
closetguy is online now
Find More Posts by closetguy
Registered User
United States, OH, Berlin Heights
Joined Jul 2006
4,617 Posts
If you are running anything bigger than four standard analog servos.Those batteries don't have enough amps to feed anything larger..
closetguy is online now Find More Posts by closetguy
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-15-2019, 06:48 PM
AHicks is offline
Find More Posts by AHicks
Registered User
Joined May 2009
1,602 Posts
PLUS, there's a very good chance a single switch will act as an amperage bottleneck between the batteries and the flight pack.

If this is a small plane using standard servos and being flown is a sedate manner, you will likely get away with it. As the size, or plans for acrobatics increases, your chances of success decrease.

NiMh just don't have the ability to produce amperage like the later model planes are designed to use.
AHicks is offline Find More Posts by AHicks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-15-2019, 08:04 PM
dusturbd is offline
Find More Posts by dusturbd
Registered User
United States, FL, Lakeland
Joined Jan 2015
688 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by closetguy View Post
If you are running anything bigger than four standard analog servos.Those batteries don't have enough amps to feed anything larger..
I will have to tell my flying buddy he is flying a 35cc factor 3d with 6 savox digital servo on a single 5000mah nimh and has been for a while
dusturbd is offline Find More Posts by dusturbd
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-15-2019, 08:09 PM
closetguy is online now
Find More Posts by closetguy
Registered User
United States, OH, Berlin Heights
Joined Jul 2006
4,617 Posts
I am speaking from experience.It's not the mah,it's the amp draw,good luck.
closetguy is online now Find More Posts by closetguy
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-15-2019, 08:39 PM
RCAddiction is offline
Find More Posts by RCAddiction
Registered User
RCAddiction's Avatar
United States, FL, Sarasota
Joined Jan 2006
977 Posts
Ok, speaking from my own experience, this all depends on the size of the plane and load on the servos. Today, I do favor A123's and LiFe but that doesn't mean that NiMh isn't still a viable solution.

I have an 80" Jerry's Big Boy with a G23 on CH ignition that I built from a kit and maidened in 2003. 10.75 lb plane, dry. It's a giant funfly with huge control surfaces.

Up until the last 2 yrs when I switched to a single 2100 LiFe with an AeroTech IBEC, it's was flown all of those years on a 1650-2000mah NiMH 6V pack and a separate small 4.8V ignition pack. Servos are (1) Futaba 9001 throttle, (1) HS-5625 rudder, (4) HS-5475 ailerons, (2) HS-5475 elevator. So, that's 8 servos, 7 of which are digital. I did swap out the HS-5625 at one time for a JR 8411. Standard MPI (JR style) charge switch for receiver, and another one for ignition.

And if you think I just baby this plane and fly in circles, that's not so. I can share that my specific plane has been wringed out by a former Tucson Aerobatics Shootout Champion, as well as a couple of other top pilots. At no time did anyone ever say that servo power was lacking. All I ever heard was that it was a blast to fly and don't ever change a thing!

Typically got 4-5 flights per charge.
RCAddiction is offline Find More Posts by RCAddiction
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-15-2019, 08:47 PM
RCAddiction is offline
Find More Posts by RCAddiction
Registered User
RCAddiction's Avatar
United States, FL, Sarasota
Joined Jan 2006
977 Posts
Cotman,

Maybe you can tell us a bit about your plane? What is it, wingspan, how do you fly, and what powers it. What it is and how you fly will tend to drive how much battery power you need and what might make sense in that tight fuselage.

With the advent of devices like the Tech Aero IBEC, you have the option to reliably eliminate a separate ignition battery and switch. The IBEC is small and you can eliminate the space and weight of the 3rd battery.

Please post. Looking forward to learning more.
RCAddiction is offline Find More Posts by RCAddiction
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-17-2019, 07:53 AM
karolh is offline
Find More Posts by karolh
Registered User
Mandeville, Jamaica, West Indies
Joined Aug 2007
601 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RCAddiction View Post
Cotman,

With the advent of devices like the Tech Aero IBEC, you have the option to reliably eliminate a separate ignition battery and switch. The IBEC is small and you can eliminate the space and weight of the 3rd battery.

Please post. Looking forward to learning more.


I second that.
karolh is offline Find More Posts by karolh
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-17-2019, 09:15 AM
scootr is offline
Find More Posts by scootr
2 many planes 2 little time
scootr's Avatar
United States, CA, Winchester
Joined Sep 2015
1,057 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by karolh View Post
I second that.
I would not fly a gas plane with out the Tech Aero IBEC.
Friend brought a new plane with new (other brand) kill switch on it to the field. It wouldn't rev up when started... Yep - bad new kill switch

Safety in redundancy
2 1800 life batteries
2 switches
Tech Aero IBEC

The plane can run from either battery either switch but runs /draws from both. The IBEC feeds and cuts ignition power while filtering interference.
If 1 switch or 1 battery fails she still comes home.
scootr is offline Find More Posts by scootr
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-18-2019, 07:46 AM
karolh is offline
Find More Posts by karolh
Registered User
Mandeville, Jamaica, West Indies
Joined Aug 2007
601 Posts
Hi Scootr, where did you get your Life 1800 mA batteries from as I have been unable to find such a capacity Life battery.
karolh is offline Find More Posts by karolh
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-18-2019, 09:12 AM
RCAddiction is offline
Find More Posts by RCAddiction
Registered User
RCAddiction's Avatar
United States, FL, Sarasota
Joined Jan 2006
977 Posts
I'm not Scootr but a quick bit of Googling reveals:

This capacity used to be carried by Tower as a Hobbico battery but seems to be discontinued:
https://www.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXHDJS
Esprit shows them on their site:
http://www.espritmodel.com/jeti-rece...6-6v-life.aspx
RCAddiction is offline Find More Posts by RCAddiction
Last edited by RCAddiction; 05-18-2019 at 09:39 AM. Reason: dang...mispelled Scootr
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-18-2019, 12:40 PM
Truckracer is online now
Find More Posts by Truckracer
Registered User
Des Moines, Iowa USA
Joined Nov 2007
4,498 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by karolh View Post
Hi Scootr, where did you get your Life 1800 mA batteries from as I have been unable to find such a capacity Life battery.
This is a common size sometimes sold for use in transmitters. They vary from 1600 to 2200 Mah capacity. HK has them. You have to be careful using them for airborne packs as the C ratings are not very high.
Truckracer is online now Find More Posts by Truckracer
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-19-2019, 01:37 PM
karolh is offline
Find More Posts by karolh
Registered User
Mandeville, Jamaica, West Indies
Joined Aug 2007
601 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Truckracer View Post
This is a common size sometimes sold for use in transmitters. They vary from 1600 to 2200 Mah capacity. HK has them. You have to be careful using them for airborne packs as the C ratings are not very high.
I have a Life 2000 mA battery from HK in my Tx and a Life 1600 mA from Richard at Wrong Way RC for my Rx.
karolh is offline Find More Posts by karolh
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-28-2019, 08:55 AM
scootr is offline
Find More Posts by scootr
2 many planes 2 little time
scootr's Avatar
United States, CA, Winchester
Joined Sep 2015
1,057 Posts
Do look into the Tech-Aero IBEC.
This device allows the ignition switch to be on the radio not the plane = much safer. I use 2 charge port switches on the plane.
Using 2 batteries and 2 switches so the batteries and switches share making a redundant system. The plane will run with any combo of any one battery and one switch in case of switch or battery failure. Both batteries are drained equally and the IBEC separates and filters the ignition. Been doing this for years with good results for me.
My planes are not big by today's standards but, they are 30-50cc warbirds, bipes, sticks... etc
scootr is offline Find More Posts by scootr
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message


Quick Reply
Message:


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools