logo
Old 01-27-2021, 11:32 PM
Find More Posts by ScratchBuilder
United States, OH, Mason
Joined Jan 2021
14 Posts
Discussion
Different Levels of Scale

I'm new to building scale models. Before you tell me to start with an LT-40, some background. I've been flying since 1998. I like to build kits and have recently started plans building and scratch building. I fly ARFs too, but I enjoy a stick build more.

In the past, a Decathlon, J3 Cub or Extra 300L was built and covered with monokote, with no thought given to a cockpit or other scale details. It was all about flying the plane.

Attitudes and priorities change as we age. I want more of a challenge. I have several NIB kits that I'd love to "scale out" but they don't exactly have scale lines. Bud Nosen P-51 and a Dynaflite Chipmunk to name a few. Neither of these planes is considered 'worthy' of adding those scale details too, because as you all know the Nosen P-51 has a nearly flat bottom wing and the lines are wrong. Same with the Dynaflite Chipmunk.

The Chipmunk box says "Fun Scale"

So, can the more experienced modelers out there help me with some definition?

What IS Fun Scale?
Can a Fun Scale model be made to look more scale?

What other types of scale exist? What would that be called? Master Scale? Contest Scale? Stand off Scale?
ScratchBuilder is offline Find More Posts by ScratchBuilder
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
to remove ads between posts
Old 01-28-2021, 12:23 AM
Find More Posts by Dowmer
Scale Warbird Nut
United States, OR, Portland
Joined Oct 2013
32 Posts
If you are not competing in a scale contest then it doesn’t matter. You can scale most any plane out to you liking. Scale building is a rabbit hole. Once you start down it’s hard to get out...lol. What’s great about modeling is you can pick any level of detail that makes you happy, and remember, a truly scale project is never finished, you just stop working on it.
Dowmer is offline Find More Posts by Dowmer
Old 01-28-2021, 12:30 AM