logo
Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2017, 10:05 PM
karolh is offline
Find More Posts by karolh
Registered User
Mandeville, Jamaica, West Indies
Joined Aug 2007
611 Posts
Discussion
Using a single battery for Rx and ignition

In an effort to lighten my 20cc gas powered sport model by reducing weight wherever possible I am contemplating using one 1600 mA Life battery with 2 power leads for the Rx and ignition BUT without an IBEC unit. The model is on 2.4 Ghz and uses 3 std. size analog servos for the elev, rudder and throttle and 2 std. size digitals on the ailerons. I plan on keeping my flights to a max of 10-12 mins. with hopefully 3 flights between recharging depending of the battery condition after the first 2 flights. Your thoughts please.
karolh is offline Find More Posts by karolh
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old 07-10-2017, 11:06 PM
Keith Cannon is offline
Find More Posts by Keith Cannon
Only Amateurs Measure First
Keith Cannon's Avatar
United States, CO, Parker
Joined Apr 2016
1,389 Posts
Use an ibec...
Keith Cannon is offline Find More Posts by Keith Cannon
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-11-2017, 01:05 AM
cbedfellow is offline
Find More Posts by cbedfellow
Suspended Account
South Africa, GP, Johannesburg South
Joined Dec 2016
184 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by karolh View Post
In an effort to lighten my 20cc gas powered sport model by reducing weight wherever possible I am contemplating using one 1600 mA Life battery with 2 power leads for the Rx and ignition BUT without an IBEC unit. The model is on 2.4 Ghz and uses 3 std. size analog servos for the elev, rudder and throttle and 2 std. size digitals on the ailerons. I plan on keeping my flights to a max of 10-12 mins. with hopefully 3 flights between recharging depending of the battery condition after the first 2 flights. Your thoughts please.
I have powered with a single battery in the past, it does work, the problem is if an issue occurs then you have no protection.
cbedfellow is offline Find More Posts by cbedfellow
Reply With Quote  (Disabled) Quick reply to this message (Disabled)
Old 07-11-2017, 05:40 AM
Luchnia is offline
Find More Posts by Luchnia
Word up!
Luchnia's Avatar
United States, VA, Amelia Court House
Joined Oct 2010
2,347 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by karolh View Post
In an effort to lighten my 20cc gas powered sport model by reducing weight wherever possible I am contemplating using one 1600 mA Life battery with 2 power leads for the Rx and ignition BUT without an IBEC unit. The model is on 2.4 Ghz and uses 3 std. size analog servos for the elev, rudder and throttle and 2 std. size digitals on the ailerons. I plan on keeping my flights to a max of 10-12 mins. with hopefully 3 flights between recharging depending of the battery condition after the first 2 flights. Your thoughts please.
One battery with a Tech Aero Ultra IBEC. It is a winning combination. I run them in most all of my planes and on a 20cc it is a nice setup.
Luchnia is offline Find More Posts by Luchnia
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-11-2017, 07:08 AM
rooman is offline
Find More Posts by rooman
They're get'n lower mate.....
rooman's Avatar
United States, PA, Home
Joined Nov 2006
3,067 Posts
A 2 cell LiIon 3200 mah pack may be a better option - drop off rate is less critical than a LiFe
rooman is offline Find More Posts by rooman
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-11-2017, 07:18 AM
3d ondaedge is offline
Find More Posts by 3d ondaedge
Registered User
3d ondaedge's Avatar
United States, TX, Whitehouse
Joined Feb 2015
127 Posts
I've done it. It worked fine with no issue.

But being as it's a good idea to have a kill switch anyway, I'd go ahead and spend the $40 and get an ibec
3d ondaedge is offline Find More Posts by 3d ondaedge
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-11-2017, 07:31 AM
Renegadeflyer is offline
Find More Posts by Renegadeflyer
Registered User
United States, PA, Harrisburg
Joined Feb 2016
318 Posts
I don't think you need a ibec. Not on a plane that size. I would do it, but I would use a bigger battery myself, A123 2500 for both if it was me. Everyone thinks you need a kill switch now, but for decades people flew OS.91 on a plane that size with no killswitch.
Renegadeflyer is offline Find More Posts by Renegadeflyer
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-11-2017, 07:37 AM
smdub is offline
Find More Posts by smdub
Registered User
United States, MD, Silver Spring
Joined Dec 2016
112 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renegadeflyer View Post
Everyone thinks you need a kill switch now, but for decades people flew OS.91 on a plane that size with no killswitch.
And when there was a throttle servo/linkage problem they flew around and around until they ran out of gas (if they got lucky at it was above stall speed.) Watched a guy this weekend have to throw his hat in the prop after landing to stop his motor.

We also didn't used to have seat belts. Best we had at the time but technology has marched on.
smdub is offline Find More Posts by smdub
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-11-2017, 07:40 AM
rooman is offline
Find More Posts by rooman
They're get'n lower mate.....
rooman's Avatar
United States, PA, Home
Joined Nov 2006
3,067 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renegadeflyer View Post
I don't think you need a ibec. Not on a plane that size. I would do it, but I would use a bigger battery myself, A123 2500 for both if it was me. Everyone thinks you need a kill switch now, but for decades people flew OS.91 on a plane that size with no killswitch.
There is an AMA requirement to run a secondary engine kill device , but if one does not belong to AMA , each to their own ....
If anything a kill switch is a safety item and the Tech-Aero is probably the best on the market at the moment
rooman is offline Find More Posts by rooman
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-11-2017, 08:44 AM
closetguy is online now
Find More Posts by closetguy
Registered User
United States, OH, Berlin Heights
Joined Jul 2006
4,695 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by karolh View Post
In an effort to lighten my 20cc gas powered sport model by reducing weight wherever possible I am contemplating using one 1600 mA Life battery with 2 power leads for the Rx and ignition BUT without an IBEC unit. The model is on 2.4 Ghz and uses 3 std. size analog servos for the elev, rudder and throttle and 2 std. size digitals on the ailerons. I plan on keeping my flights to a max of 10-12 mins. with hopefully 3 flights between recharging depending of the battery condition after the first 2 flights. Your thoughts please.


No problem with your set up,been doing it sense 2.4 came out.I get 6-10 minute flights out of a single 2500 a123 with 5-7955's.My self I don't care for a IBEC ,just something else to give you trouble.
closetguy is online now Find More Posts by closetguy
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-11-2017, 08:59 AM
Puttputtmaru is offline
Find More Posts by Puttputtmaru
Registered User
Puttputtmaru's Avatar
Joined Jun 2009
729 Posts
+1 for Tech Aero Ultra IBEC
I do use two batteries plugged into CB200 (Jeti Tx) for added redundancy
Puttputtmaru is offline Find More Posts by Puttputtmaru
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-11-2017, 09:10 AM
ghoffman is online now
Find More Posts by ghoffman
Registered User
ghoffman's Avatar
New Hampshire, USA
Joined Nov 2009
7,939 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by closetguy View Post
My self I don't care for a IBEC ,just something else to give you trouble.
What is the alternative that still provides a Tx kill switch, filtering and a visual indicator if the ignition is hot or not?
ghoffman is online now Find More Posts by ghoffman
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-11-2017, 10:19 AM
closetguy is online now
Find More Posts by closetguy
Registered User
United States, OH, Berlin Heights
Joined Jul 2006
4,695 Posts
You just named three more things that could go south,when you think they are working.
I know everyone likes them,but I do not.Justy one more thing to check if engine is missing,won't start,ect.I still use a choke servo,and a throttle cut,thats all I have to check.
closetguy is online now Find More Posts by closetguy
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-11-2017, 10:26 AM
jack01 is online now
Find More Posts by jack01
Registered User
jack01's Avatar
Memphis, TN
Joined Jan 2006
1,429 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by closetguy View Post
You just named three more things that could go south,when you think they are working.
I know everyone likes them,but I do not.Justy one more thing to check if engine is missing,won't start,ect.I still use a choke servo,and a throttle cut,thats all I have to check.
With your setup, a range check would be a good thing to add to the list.
jack01 is online now Find More Posts by jack01
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-11-2017, 10:29 AM
ghoffman is online now
Find More Posts by ghoffman
Registered User
ghoffman's Avatar
New Hampshire, USA
Joined Nov 2009
7,939 Posts
I don't use a choke servo. I have failed alot more servos than anything else.
ghoffman is online now Find More Posts by ghoffman
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message


Quick Reply
Message:


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools