logo
Thread Tools
Old 08-21-2016, 12:15 AM
TazmanianDevil is offline
Find More Posts by TazmanianDevil
No Guts No Glory!
TazmanianDevil's Avatar
United States, TN, Toone
Joined Jan 2006
1,714 Posts
Discussion
Can a pin plug fail

Didn't happen, I'm just curious about that if it could happen.

What if the connectors are loos ?
What if it's getting off the port ?
What if the spring, the pin push, fail ?

Thanks
Adi
TazmanianDevil is offline Find More Posts by TazmanianDevil
Last edited by TazmanianDevil; 08-21-2016 at 05:20 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old 08-21-2016, 02:07 AM
Judge is offline
Find More Posts by Judge
Team Futaba
Judge's Avatar
United States, CA, Ladera Ranch
Joined Jan 2006
11,487 Posts
What kind of pin plug? Some are not actually in the power circuit, they only turn on the circuit. Others are in the power circuit.

But anything can fail. The question is what happens when it fails. On the SMart-Fly Power expander and Booma RC hidden switches I have if the pin plug fails the default state is power on.

So what kind of pin plug are you talking about?
Judge is offline Find More Posts by Judge
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-21-2016, 04:58 AM
rcflip - Ozzy is offline
Find More Posts by rcflip - Ozzy
Suspended Account
Australia, QLD, Brisbane
Joined Jan 2006
336 Posts
Yes they can fail, very unlikely they will fail but it's possible, the metal may fatigue and short out, no default state is going to help this situation but the chances of it actually occurring are up there with winning the lottery.
rcflip - Ozzy is offline Find More Posts by rcflip - Ozzy
Reply With Quote  (Disabled) Quick reply to this message (Disabled)
Old 08-21-2016, 05:25 AM
TazmanianDevil is offline
Find More Posts by TazmanianDevil
No Guts No Glory!
TazmanianDevil's Avatar
United States, TN, Toone
Joined Jan 2006
1,714 Posts
Sorry, all related to the smart fly EQ 10.

Rcflip you're saying that there isn't any default ?

Today I'm not using any switches at all, I open the canopy and des/connect the batteries straight off/on the regs.
TazmanianDevil is offline Find More Posts by TazmanianDevil
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-21-2016, 11:05 AM
Judge is offline
Find More Posts by Judge
Team Futaba
Judge's Avatar
United States, CA, Ladera Ranch
Joined Jan 2006
11,487 Posts
The EQ-10 can use a failsafe switch. Bob sells them. If that is what you are talking about If anything happens to the switch the default state is "ON" with power to the RX. Worse that can happen is it turns on when you do not want it on.
Judge is offline Find More Posts by Judge
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-21-2016, 03:01 PM
rcflip - Ozzy is offline
Find More Posts by rcflip - Ozzy
Suspended Account
Australia, QLD, Brisbane
Joined Jan 2006
336 Posts
No there is a default but certain situations can cause the switch to turn off, a short of some kind.
rcflip - Ozzy is offline Find More Posts by rcflip - Ozzy
Reply With Quote  (Disabled) Quick reply to this message (Disabled)
Old 08-21-2016, 07:25 PM
Judge is offline
Find More Posts by Judge
Team Futaba
Judge's Avatar
United States, CA, Ladera Ranch
Joined Jan 2006
11,487 Posts
Deleted due to not knowing what the hell I was talking about!!
Judge is offline Find More Posts by Judge
Last edited by Judge; 08-22-2016 at 08:58 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-22-2016, 02:04 AM
rcflip - Ozzy is offline
Find More Posts by rcflip - Ozzy
Suspended Account
Australia, QLD, Brisbane
Joined Jan 2006
336 Posts
Two cables shorting together act like a switch do they not, chaffed wiring may cause this, mechanical failure of the switch internals may cause this, it is highly unlikely but possible. The OP's question was can it happen, the answer is yes it can, but it is highly unlikely.

There are no definites in this world, well except death and taxes.

A short is the abnormal connection of two nodes in an eletrical circuit, a short cut so to speak, think of it like shorting your leads together to check multimeter resistance, you may be confused with high current and sparks etc.
rcflip - Ozzy is offline Find More Posts by rcflip - Ozzy
Reply With Quote  (Disabled) Quick reply to this message (Disabled)
Old 08-22-2016, 08:45 AM
rrritchey is offline
Find More Posts by rrritchey
Registered User
Phoenix, AZ
Joined Sep 2006
433 Posts
This is backwards, the pin shuts down the circuit by shorting the white to black. "ON" is when the circuit is open, other wise the unit would not stay on when no failsafe switch was in the circuit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Judge View Post
the switch works by "shorting" out the circuit. It shuts the power off by opening the circuit so I am at a loss to understand how a "short" would cause it to fail. I think the only way it could fail is if a wire broke on it. Then it would be a question of how the attached device acts in that situation.
rrritchey is offline Find More Posts by rrritchey
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-22-2016, 08:48 AM
rrritchey is offline
Find More Posts by rrritchey
Registered User
Phoenix, AZ
Joined Sep 2006
433 Posts
Its very unlikely but as said, anything can fail. The switch shorts the black and white wires to turn the unit OFF. Therefore, the unit is on when the circuit is open. If the insulation were to get worn and the wires short then it would turn the unit off. In general most of the failure modes cause and open circuit. Its about the most foolproof circuit you can come up with.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TazmanianDevil View Post
Didn't happen, I'm just curious about that if it could happen.

What if the connectors are loos ?
What if it's getting off the port ?
What if the spring, the pin push, fail ?

Thanks
Adi
rrritchey is offline Find More Posts by rrritchey
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-22-2016, 08:58 AM
Judge is offline
Find More Posts by Judge
Team Futaba
Judge's Avatar
United States, CA, Ladera Ranch
Joined Jan 2006
11,487 Posts
Oops, had it backwards!!
Judge is offline Find More Posts by Judge
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-22-2016, 10:37 AM
TazmanianDevil is offline
Find More Posts by TazmanianDevil
No Guts No Glory!
TazmanianDevil's Avatar
United States, TN, Toone
Joined Jan 2006
1,714 Posts
Thanks guys, appreciate the time and answers.
TazmanianDevil is offline Find More Posts by TazmanianDevil
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-22-2016, 03:03 PM
rcflip - Ozzy is offline
Find More Posts by rcflip - Ozzy
Suspended Account
Australia, QLD, Brisbane
Joined Jan 2006
336 Posts
All good remember it is very, very unlikely for a pin switch to fail, almost the realms of impossibility.
rcflip - Ozzy is offline Find More Posts by rcflip - Ozzy
Reply With Quote  (Disabled) Quick reply to this message (Disabled)
Old 08-22-2016, 03:05 PM
rcflip - Ozzy is offline
Find More Posts by rcflip - Ozzy
Suspended Account
Australia, QLD, Brisbane
Joined Jan 2006
336 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Judge View Post
Deleted due to not knowing what the hell I was talking about!!
Haha no way Judge, you are a helpful guy keep that chin up.
rcflip - Ozzy is offline Find More Posts by rcflip - Ozzy
Reply With Quote  (Disabled) Quick reply to this message (Disabled)


Quick Reply
Message:


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools