logo
Thread Tools
Old 01-26-2021, 03:53 PM
Levap is offline
Find More Posts by Levap
Czech It Out !
Levap's Avatar
United States, AR, Mayflower
Joined Jun 2006
29 Posts
Discussion
RF on Laptop

Anyone using RF 7.5 or higher simulator on a laptop?
Can you recommend a laptop? What should I look for in a laptop ( video card, memory etc) ?
Thanks in advance.
Levap is offline Find More Posts by Levap
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old 01-26-2021, 04:32 PM
CZS550 is offline
Find More Posts by CZS550
Registered User
CZS550's Avatar
United States, CT, Wallingford
Joined Sep 2015
40 Posts
I am no pc expert but I have been running realflight on a laptop I purchased from Eluktronics for a few years and it has been great in my opinion. I have an intel i7-7700HQ 2.80GHZ 16GB Ram Installed on SSD and Nvidia GTX 1060. I don't run the sim at full settings doesn't seem worth it and I disable some unnecessary graphics in effort to go easier on the setup. I dont think I would want less then my setup. I would imagine now you could get something better then what I have for the same price I paid like 1400.00 a few years ago.
CZS550 is offline Find More Posts by CZS550
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-26-2021, 05:58 PM
ghoffman is online now
Find More Posts by ghoffman
Registered User
ghoffman's Avatar
New Hampshire, USA
Joined Nov 2009
9,453 Posts
No problem, I run 9.5 on an 5ish year old Thinkpad with an i3 , and it works just as well as on my new Dell XPS with 10th Gen i7 with SDD and lots of RAM.
ghoffman is online now Find More Posts by ghoffman
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-26-2021, 06:13 PM
AHP is online now
AHP
Find More Posts by AHP
AHP
Registered User
AHP's Avatar
Charlotte, NC
Joined Jan 2006
975 Posts
I run v9.5 on an old desktop with a cheap video card and have good frame rate with all of the settings maxxed. Point being, the graphics in v9.5 are essentially unchanged from v3.5 circa 2005, so any relatively 'modern' PC will run it no prob.

The physics of v9.5 are excellent but the graphics are a joke compared to even my 6-7 y/o version of Aerofly RC...
AHP is online now Find More Posts by AHP
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-26-2021, 09:12 PM
AKNick is offline
Find More Posts by AKNick
1Corinthians 3:18
AKNick's Avatar
United States, AK, Juneau
Joined Feb 2014
1,023 Posts
I'm running RF8 on a Thinkpad i7 VPro 8thGen SSD Integrated Graphics and its just fine. Most modern laptops it's not a big deal at all. I used to have RF3 ten+ years ago on a laptop!
AKNick is offline Find More Posts by AKNick
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-27-2021, 01:32 PM
Mithrandir is offline
Find More Posts by Mithrandir
TEAM FUTABA
Mithrandir's Avatar
High Desert California, USA
Joined Jan 2006
8,116 Posts
RF 8.5 on a $320 dell laptop I got for my kids School-from-home...

runs great actually....
Mithrandir is offline Find More Posts by Mithrandir
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-21-2021, 07:57 PM
LoneWolfSS454 is offline
Find More Posts by LoneWolfSS454
Gear Head
LoneWolfSS454's Avatar
United States, NV
Joined Nov 2021
17 Posts
"Thread revival"?
Possible (or likely) stupid question?
Can RF 9.5 be installed on my regular PC, activated on the same desktop PC, then also be installed on my laptop, without paying for a 2nd copy (license fee)?
The (questioned, intended) laptop installation would not be a "transfer", but a portable installation for use if I'm on the road.

Edit: Nevermind, accidentally ran across the RF Knowledgebase where it states the legit owner can install & activate multiple copies, laptops included obviously.
LoneWolfSS454 is offline Find More Posts by LoneWolfSS454
Last edited by LoneWolfSS454; 12-25-2021 at 10:03 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-21-2021, 08:09 PM
ghoffman is online now
Find More Posts by ghoffman
Registered User
ghoffman's Avatar
New Hampshire, USA
Joined Nov 2009
9,453 Posts
The graphics of some is decent. A friend made this photo field of our club in Concord NH. I think it is pretty close to reality.
http://www.knifeedge.com/forums/inde...cags_pi.53152/
ghoffman is online now Find More Posts by ghoffman
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message


Quick Reply
Message:


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools