logo
Thread Tools
Old 04-18-2019, 12:13 AM
rcnorth is offline
Find More Posts by rcnorth
Registered User
rcnorth's Avatar
Canada, BC, Kelowna
Joined May 2014
200 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by banditpowdercoat View Post
I know a guy that I;m sure could mill up some adapters to DA exhaust
Maybe I should just order the parts & weld up my own header...
hmm
rcnorth is offline Find More Posts by rcnorth
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old 04-18-2019, 05:50 AM
closetguy is offline
Find More Posts by closetguy
Registered User
United States, OH, Berlin Heights
Joined Jul 2006
4,874 Posts
That's the best way then you get what you want.I am sure in time you will be able to buy some already made.
Also,I will bet that your going to see more DA70's for sale now at a lower price.
closetguy is offline Find More Posts by closetguy
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-18-2019, 02:39 PM
rcnorth is offline
Find More Posts by rcnorth
Registered User
rcnorth's Avatar
Canada, BC, Kelowna
Joined May 2014
200 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by closetguy View Post
That's the best way then you get what you want.I am sure in time you will be able to buy some already made.
Also,I will bet that your going to see more DA70's for sale now at a lower price.
Actually I was kidding, I'd say it's a bad idea unless you really know what your doing lol. A friend tried that & it didn't go so well & ended up buying headers anyhow.

If the offset of cylinders is the same then adapters may be the best option. I don't see MTW making headers for this engine, but it would be nice if they did.
rcnorth is offline Find More Posts by rcnorth
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-18-2019, 04:39 PM
guldukat is offline
Find More Posts by guldukat
Registered User
guldukat's Avatar
United States, GA, Statham
Joined Apr 2015
673 Posts
Good news - a few 76's on it's way - shows delivery on Saturday. If all is well and weather is good - I might be able to make it to Lineville with 3X 70cc planes after all.
guldukat is offline Find More Posts by guldukat
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-19-2019, 08:54 AM
banditpowdercoat is offline
Find More Posts by banditpowdercoat
Canucklehead
Canada, BC, Malakwa
Joined Aug 2017
34 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcnorth View Post
Maybe I should just order the parts & weld up my own header...
hmm



LOL, Ya, I know my mistakes I did now. Way to much heat. Brazing isn't like Soldering at all, I found. When soldering, if the Solder doesn't wick and flow, the metal isn't hot enough, But Brazing you can get to hot to burn the carbon out and noting will stick then. Which is what I did. Next set will be much easier.
banditpowdercoat is offline Find More Posts by banditpowdercoat
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-29-2019, 06:59 PM
closetguy is offline
Find More Posts by closetguy
Registered User
United States, OH, Berlin Heights
Joined Jul 2006
4,874 Posts
'
closetguy is offline Find More Posts by closetguy
Last edited by closetguy; 05-30-2019 at 04:26 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-30-2019, 06:22 AM
wingburner is offline
Find More Posts by wingburner
Registered User
wingburner's Avatar
Canada, AB, Beaverlodge
Joined Jan 2006
603 Posts
wingburner
wingburner is offline Find More Posts by wingburner
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-30-2019, 07:46 PM
flyerman is offline
Find More Posts by flyerman
Registered User
United States, AL, Troy
Joined May 2014
228 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by banditpowdercoat View Post
LOL, Ya, I know my mistakes I did now. Way to much heat. Brazing isn't like Soldering at all, I found. When soldering, if the Solder doesn't wick and flow, the metal isn't hot enough, But Brazing you can get to hot to burn the carbon out and noting will stick then. Which is what I did. Next set will be much easier.
Or clean enough. Found that out and used more flux with heat. May be wrong, but don't think you can use too much flux. Any experienced solder's with info on that?
flyerman is offline Find More Posts by flyerman
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-30-2019, 09:58 PM
wingburner is offline
Find More Posts by wingburner
Registered User
wingburner's Avatar
Canada, AB, Beaverlodge
Joined Jan 2006
603 Posts
....
wingburner is offline Find More Posts by wingburner
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-04-2019, 03:17 PM
closetguy is offline
Find More Posts by closetguy
Registered User
United States, OH, Berlin Heights
Joined Jul 2006
4,874 Posts
Has anyone used a123 for the ignition with GP's engines. Manual states 6.6 volts under load no less.


never mind I found it and you can't.
closetguy is offline Find More Posts by closetguy
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-04-2019, 03:37 PM
tande is offline
Find More Posts by tande
Registered User
tande's Avatar
United States, MI, Millington
Joined Sep 2008
1,514 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by closetguy View Post
Has anyone used a123 for the ignition with GP's engines. Manual states 6.6 volts under load no less.


never mind I found it and you can't.
Ya, often wondered what the advantage is of selling an engine with an ignition that a BIG % of us can't use?......
tande is offline Find More Posts by tande
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-04-2019, 03:51 PM
ghoffman is offline
Find More Posts by ghoffman
Registered User
ghoffman's Avatar
New Hampshire, USA
Joined Nov 2009
8,063 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tande View Post
Ya, often wondered what the advantage is of selling an engine with an ignition that a BIG % of us can't use?......
I don't understand, why can't everyone use the ignition?
ghoffman is offline Find More Posts by ghoffman
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-04-2019, 04:08 PM
wyo69cowboy is offline
Find More Posts by wyo69cowboy
Gettin better 1 [email protected] a time!
wyo69cowboy's Avatar
Cody WY
Joined Apr 2009
1,522 Posts
I'm not sure what the issue is either--if the manual says 6.6 and higher, that means to me a LiFe or Lipo pack would work fine for ignition, and most around here no longer use NiCad or Nimh batteries anyway, and have been clamoring for everything to be "high-voltage".


A TechAero IBEC or one of the other powerboard systems like an X24 typically allow adjustable voltage thru their IBEC anyway
wyo69cowboy is offline Find More Posts by wyo69cowboy
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-04-2019, 06:03 PM
Truckracer is offline
Find More Posts by Truckracer
Registered User
Des Moines, Iowa USA
Joined Nov 2007
4,806 Posts
I’ve run into several ignitions that are rated 7.8 to 12v and that doesn’t work with my A123 batteries. One extreme to the other. I like the ones that say 6 - 12v.
Truckracer is offline Find More Posts by Truckracer
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-04-2019, 08:05 PM
closetguy is offline
Find More Posts by closetguy
Registered User
United States, OH, Berlin Heights
Joined Jul 2006
4,874 Posts
I went to the GP123 for some info and they seem to get kick back on 6.6 volts or lower.I start out at that but I run it down to 6.4.The manual states no lower than 6.6 under load.Luckly I had a rcexl ignition for a twin,6.0-12 volts.I'm not going to put a lipo in any of my planes.
closetguy is offline Find More Posts by closetguy
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message


Quick Reply
Message:


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools