logo
Old 01-17-2007, 11:32 AM
Find More Posts by jmiracle
Findlay, Ohio
Joined Jan 2006
1,383 Posts
scratch-build 100cc Sukhoi

OK, so the time has come to start posting some pics of a project I've had in the works for awhile now.

This all started last summer when I got this big idea to design and build my own Sukhoi...mostly cause there just wasn't any other kits or even ARF's really that tickled my fancy.

So after some months of staring at the computer screen...I came up with something I think might work. I'm no airplane designer...so I only had what I learned from building other kits. I decided I really didn't want to re-invent the wheel as far as the design goes. Whether this thing will actually fly right is anyone's guess.

As this project has progressed, I've learned some things that need changed...some better ways of doing things...and I'm sure that will continue as the build goes on. If this flies decent and I decide to build another one, there will be lots of changes made....so consider this more of a "proof-of-concept" build.

It's really very traditional construction....ply/balsa fuse with foam wings/stabs/turtle deck/bottom deck. I plan on building a wood cowl for this one and buying a canopy from some other GS sukhoi kit that will just get trimmed to fit. I'm trying to keep this first build fairly simple.

I decided to have the wings/stabs CNC'd by someone who actually knows what they're doing...those parts should be here today. I'll cut the top/bottom deck parts from foam myself.

I started by printing templates of all the formers and parts that need cut and just jumped in. I basically hand-cut a short-kit of the fuse.