logo
Old 11-15-2019, 02:30 PM
Find More Posts by jharkin
United States, MA
Joined Jul 2007
831 Posts
Discussion
Pilot 33% Pitts assembly

So I spoke to Lyman at Pilot USA and it turned out they had a new batch of 73" Pitts coming in with the Charlie Hillard scale scheme So they reserved one for me, which just arrived at my door today

I'm going to do a quick assembly thread on this. Plan is to go DA70 with the 2in1, smoke, Futaba electronics and A123 onboard power.

Ive owned PAU and EF before, but this is my first Pilot. Im impressed so far - overall the quality looks quite good, and the hardware pack is EXTENSIVE. I'm a scale builder as well and the bag of cables, fittings and screws wouldn't be all that out of place in a Proctor kit... its a bipe there is a LOT of hardware!!!

First few observations:
  • This kits has the updates they sent out for the 40%ers: Cabane verticals and all the cable quick mounts are stainless.
  • I bet they use the same hardware for the 33, 40 and 45%ers.. The cable end fittings are a bit overkill for this size.
  • This is the first plane Ive ever built with pre-hinged surfaces. The hinging seems .. OK.. but I would rather they have used hinge points... the hinging is a bit stiff out of the box.
  • Pre-built tank is a nice touch but its a bit on the small size for a 70 ( my flying is more iMac style than 3D and I like 15min+reserve) I may use it for smoke and get a 24 ounce main fuel tank. Also going to switch out their fuel lines for viton on the clunk and real tygon everywhere else
  • Published specs look good, I measured 73.5" actual span on the bottom wing, about 71~72" cowl to rudder, 76" overall spinner to rudder.
  • I have to measure it to be sure but I think I will need to extend the canister tunnel for the 70
jharkin is offline Find More Posts by jharkin
Last edited by jharkin; 11-17-2019 at 02:07 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
to remove ads between posts
Old 11-15-2019, 02:33 PM
United States, MA