logo
Thread Tools
Old 02-06-2017, 02:02 PM
MarkU1967 is offline
Find More Posts by MarkU1967
Registered User
MarkU1967's Avatar
United States, IN, Chesterton
Joined Sep 2016
402 Posts
Discussion
Please show us your DA 35 Choke setup.

I would be interested in seeing how people are setting up their choke for the DA 35. I have looked through the DA 35 thread and all I saw were a small handful of setups. Some were OK and some I didn't care for much. Even then, it took a really long time to look through the entire thread. Perhaps this would be a really good place to see pictures for the rather awkward orientation for the DA 35. Even better would be if someone stepped up with a purchasable setup.

Thanks,
Mark
MarkU1967 is offline Find More Posts by MarkU1967
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old 02-06-2017, 03:06 PM
sweetplane is offline
Find More Posts by sweetplane
Suspended Account
Joined Jan 2017
114 Posts
Click Thread Tools -> Show attachments in this thread
sweetplane is offline Find More Posts by sweetplane
Reply With Quote  (Disabled) Quick reply to this message (Disabled)
Old 02-06-2017, 03:22 PM
Dirt Doctor is offline
Find More Posts by Dirt Doctor
Registered User
Dirt Doctor's Avatar
United States, MS, Vicksburg
Joined Jan 2015
536 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweetplane View Post
Click Thread Tools -> Show attachments in this thread
That is how that I did the choke on mine except that the bracket was made out of a piece of brass.
Dirt Doctor is offline Find More Posts by Dirt Doctor
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2017, 03:30 PM
Vapor Trails is offline
Find More Posts by Vapor Trails
Suspended Account
United States, GA, Atlanta
Joined Dec 2008
2,322 Posts
I need to print a mount for my choke, I dont like how I currently have it zip-tied in place....

Is anyone selling choke mounts? Or perhaps willing to share a file for a 3d printed version?
Vapor Trails is offline Find More Posts by Vapor Trails
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2017, 03:31 PM
Toothata540 is offline
Find More Posts by Toothata540
Huckin', Learnin', & Burnin'
Toothata540's Avatar
United States, MA, Montague
Joined Dec 2013
602 Posts
Though I don't have a pic for it, what I've done in the past is similar to sweetplane, but with an aluminum servo arm drilled out to fit on one of the engine mounting bolts and drilled to accommodate a 4-40 size rod. It looks like you'd be able to mount it pointing up from the bottom bolt and bend the rod so that it would be easy to clear similar to sweetplanes setup.
Toothata540 is offline Find More Posts by Toothata540
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2017, 03:44 PM
ponyboy082662 is offline
Find More Posts by ponyboy082662
wrongwayfeldman
ponyboy082662's Avatar
United States, AL, Florence
Joined Mar 2010
2,424 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toothata540 View Post
Though I don't have a pic for it, what I've done in the past is similar to sweetplane, but with an aluminum servo arm drilled out to fit on one of the engine mounting bolts and drilled to accommodate a 4-40 size rod. It looks like you'd be able to mount it pointing up from the bottom bolt and bend the rod so that it would be easy to clear similar to sweetplanes setup.
I've used that type of setup on several planes....it works pretty good and cost practically nothing since I had the stuff anyway.....
ponyboy082662 is offline Find More Posts by ponyboy082662
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2017, 04:25 PM
MarkU1967 is offline
Find More Posts by MarkU1967
Registered User
MarkU1967's Avatar
United States, IN, Chesterton
Joined Sep 2016
402 Posts
I like the ideas shown so far. One question though. If an aluminum servo arm was used and attached to the engine, isn't there a chance of producing some rf signal interference? I don't know but I thought I read that metal on metal is not a good idea. Then again I could be wrong, still a really nice idea though.
MarkU1967 is offline Find More Posts by MarkU1967
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2017, 06:53 PM
ghoffman is offline
Find More Posts by ghoffman
Registered User
ghoffman's Avatar
New Hampshire, USA
Joined Nov 2009
8,076 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vapor Trails View Post
I need to print a mount for my choke, I dont like how I currently have it zip-tied in place....

Is anyone selling choke mounts? Or perhaps willing to share a file for a 3d printed version?
I made that mount.
ghoffman is offline Find More Posts by ghoffman
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2017, 07:10 PM
CT Flier Guy is offline
Find More Posts by CT Flier Guy
Gee Bee Lover
CT Flier Guy's Avatar
United States, CT, Suffield
Joined May 2016
173 Posts
For my DA35 choke, I used a bellcrank installation with a pushrod to outside of fuselage. It works great, but wasn't my original idea. I saw it here on Flying Giants.
CT Flier Guy is offline Find More Posts by CT Flier Guy
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2017, 07:20 PM
mlholtman is offline
Find More Posts by mlholtman
Registered User
Houston Texas
Joined Sep 2007
150 Posts
As far as the RF issue I don't think it will be an issue because the rod is not moving anymore once you are in flight.
mlholtman is offline Find More Posts by mlholtman
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2017, 07:25 PM
Harold Smith is offline
Find More Posts by Harold Smith
Registered User
Harold Smith's Avatar
United States, TX, Chandler
Joined Dec 2009
631 Posts
I use the small alum. arm that comes with HiTech servos, drill it out to fit a engine mounting bolt.
But I will say this the ziptie way work very good.---Smitty
Harold Smith is offline Find More Posts by Harold Smith
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2017, 07:48 PM
Toothata540 is offline
Find More Posts by Toothata540
Huckin', Learnin', & Burnin'
Toothata540's Avatar
United States, MA, Montague
Joined Dec 2013
602 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkU1967 View Post
I like the ideas shown so far. One question though. If an aluminum servo arm was used and attached to the engine, isn't there a chance of producing some rf signal interference? I don't know but I thought I read that metal on metal is not a good idea. Then again I could be wrong, still a really nice idea though.
On my Evolution 58 I drilled out the hole for the rod and sleeved it with a piece of small rubber tubing I glued into the hole to prevent vibration. As for the RF noise, the DLE 35 comes with a pre-cast hole in the crankcase with a roll-pin lining the hole and I've used that choke setup for 3-4 seasons with no signal loss. Not much experience with FM band, I suppose it could pose a problem with the older frequencies. With 2.4 I can't see where it would transmit through especially where you would have an optical type of switch to the Ign and no choke servo to feel the vibrations.
Toothata540 is offline Find More Posts by Toothata540
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2017, 08:33 PM
vegasking1961 is offline
Find More Posts by vegasking1961
Team 3DRC Hobbies
vegasking1961's Avatar
United States, AZ, Phoenix
Joined Feb 2011
1,208 Posts
Here's one of mine.
vegasking1961 is offline Find More Posts by vegasking1961
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2017, 08:45 PM
bonno is offline
Find More Posts by bonno
Registered User
Canada, ON, London
Joined Mar 2010
4 Posts
I cnc,d this one , the extra holes is for the Tech Aero IBEC LED.
The drilled out nylon bolt isolates the 2-56 choke rod
Note the backside of the mount where the bolts pass through , the engine bolt hole locations are only spot faced where the bolt passes through so you need to keep the contact area the same diameter as the bolt head.
bonno is offline Find More Posts by bonno
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-07-2017, 01:15 AM
2walla is offline
Find More Posts by 2walla
Registered User
2walla's Avatar
United States, WA, Walla Walla
Joined Apr 2007
2,338 Posts
I just used a piece of g10 under one of the engine mount bolts with a hole drilled in it
2walla is offline Find More Posts by 2walla
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message


Quick Reply
Message:


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools