logo
Thread Tools
Old 11-24-2019, 02:22 PM
azcrashpro is online now
Find More Posts by azcrashpro
Registered User
United States, AZ, Mesa
Joined Nov 2010
174 Posts
Discussion
DA170 Hard to Start

I have a DA170 that has been running good until a couple weeks ago. It ran great at the Shootout and then with no changes it wouldn't start the next time out. It took at least 40 flips. I have since replaced the spark plug caps, checked for air leaks, and rebuilt the carb. No help. Once I can get it running it runs as good as it ever has.

Any ideas?

Mike
azcrashpro is online now Find More Posts by azcrashpro
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old 11-24-2019, 03:12 PM
closetguy is offline
Find More Posts by closetguy
Registered User
United States, OH, Berlin Heights
Joined Jul 2006
4,945 Posts
Have you check for spark when it's hard to start.
closetguy is offline Find More Posts by closetguy
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-24-2019, 03:22 PM
jln1320 is offline
Find More Posts by jln1320
Registered User
jln1320's Avatar
United States, FL, Daytona Beach
Joined Feb 2015
112 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by azcrashpro View Post
I have a DA170 that has been running good until a couple weeks ago. It ran great at the Shootout and then with no changes it wouldn't start the next time out. It took at least 40 flips. I have since replaced the spark plug caps, checked for air leaks, and rebuilt the carb. No help. Once I can get it running it runs as good as it ever has.

Any ideas?

Mike
I had a similar problem with a brand new DA150L, called DA and they sent me another new ignition pick up sensor and it corrected the problem.
You may want to check yours, also check that you have good compression.
jln1320 is offline Find More Posts by jln1320
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-24-2019, 04:04 PM
azcrashpro is online now
Find More Posts by azcrashpro
Registered User
United States, AZ, Mesa
Joined Nov 2010
174 Posts
No, it usually starts before I get to that point.

Mike
azcrashpro is online now Find More Posts by azcrashpro
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-24-2019, 04:45 PM
azcrashpro is online now
Find More Posts by azcrashpro
Registered User
United States, AZ, Mesa
Joined Nov 2010
174 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jln1320 View Post
I had a similar problem with a brand new DA150L, called DA and they sent me another new ignition pick up sensor and it corrected the problem.
You may want to check yours, also check that you have good compression.

Compression is good. I am going to call DA again tomorrow about this issue.


Mike
azcrashpro is online now Find More Posts by azcrashpro
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-24-2019, 04:58 PM
Bill Vargas is offline
Find More Posts by Bill Vargas
3W/ZDZ Flyer
Bill Vargas's Avatar
United States, CA, Apple Valley
Joined Mar 2011
3,253 Posts
is it still hard to start with a fresh charged up battery plugged directly into the ignition box?
Bill Vargas is offline Find More Posts by Bill Vargas
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-24-2019, 05:31 PM
azcrashpro is online now
Find More Posts by azcrashpro
Registered User
United States, AZ, Mesa
Joined Nov 2010
174 Posts
I know it won't start with a freshly charged battery. I don't remember is I bypassed the ignition kill or not. But it does run great once I get it started.


Mike
azcrashpro is online now Find More Posts by azcrashpro
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-24-2019, 08:01 PM
boothg-3 is offline
Find More Posts by boothg-3
Registered User
rhome , texas
Joined May 2008
481 Posts
You said you overhauled the carburetor,did you remove the high and low speed needles and spray the passages out
boothg-3 is offline Find More Posts by boothg-3
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-24-2019, 08:07 PM
azcrashpro is online now
Find More Posts by azcrashpro
Registered User
United States, AZ, Mesa
Joined Nov 2010
174 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by boothg-3 View Post
You said you overhauled the carburetor,did you remove the high and low speed needles and spray the passages out


Yes, they were cleared. No debris came out.
azcrashpro is online now Find More Posts by azcrashpro
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2019, 12:25 AM
rsnow is offline
Find More Posts by rsnow
Registered User
rsnow's Avatar
United States, AZ, Arizona City
Joined May 2015
136 Posts
I didn't see any mention of pulling a plug after the 40 flips to see what their condition was.... wet/dry ? or due to the cowl this wasn't possible to check or..... if you know of someone with an electric starter (no carbon fiber spinner) to try starting it and it might point to the ignition as being the culprit due to the need for a higher RPM to get it to fire.
just a few suggestions. A call to DA like you said couldn't hurt, hope you get it fixed. By the way I'm certain when you rebuilt the carb. you used all new gaskets on anything removed, wet gaskets aren't good to re-use, new gaskets are recommended.
rsnow is offline Find More Posts by rsnow
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2019, 01:24 AM
azcrashpro is online now
Find More Posts by azcrashpro
Registered User
United States, AZ, Mesa
Joined Nov 2010
174 Posts
No, I have not pulled the plugs while it wasn't starting. Major operation and I was trying different things with the choke setting.

Something changed for it to start doing this all of the sudden. I just need to figure out what it is that changed.

Mike
azcrashpro is online now Find More Posts by azcrashpro
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2019, 01:26 AM
azcrashpro is online now
Find More Posts by azcrashpro
Registered User
United States, AZ, Mesa
Joined Nov 2010
174 Posts
Oh. Hot or cold it doesn't matter, still hard to start.
azcrashpro is online now Find More Posts by azcrashpro
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2019, 01:45 PM
airboss/oc is offline
Find More Posts by airboss/oc
desert racer
airboss/oc's Avatar
United States, CA, Orange County
Joined Aug 2007
6,290 Posts
ignition power supply, swap battery and bypass all switches
airboss/oc is offline Find More Posts by airboss/oc
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2019, 01:56 PM
The Dirt Doctor is offline
Find More Posts by The Dirt Doctor
Registered User
Vicksburg, MS
Joined Nov 2006
2,378 Posts
Borrow a known working sending unit and replace the original unit. I'll bet a hole in a donut that your 170 will fire on the third flip!!
The Dirt Doctor is offline Find More Posts by The Dirt Doctor
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2019, 02:12 PM
azcrashpro is online now
Find More Posts by azcrashpro
Registered User
United States, AZ, Mesa
Joined Nov 2010
174 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by airboss/oc View Post
ignition power supply, swap battery and bypass all switches
I will get to these eventually but I really don't think that is the problem. I put 3 flights on the plane yesterday and once it is running I have 0 issues.

Mike
azcrashpro is online now Find More Posts by azcrashpro
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message


Quick Reply
Message:


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Electrifly: ELECTRIFLY SYNCRO™ EDF GLIDER ARF - TWO EXCITING WAYS TO FLY! SleepyC What's Hot 0 04-27-2011 01:46 PM
which 35%er for 3d and imac????? TonyThomasian Airframes and Kits 0 01-28-2006 02:42 AM