Old 07-10-2010, 11:33 PM
Find More Posts by Red Comet
Jeff W
United States, UT, Saratoga Springs
Joined Apr 2010
17 Posts
What Engine is This?

Hi-
I'm a newbie here, and to gas engines in general. Got hooked after watching the latest IMAC contest here in Albuquerque. My dad built this 1/3 Lanier Laser and I'm working on getting it ready to fly - but I have no idea what engine it has! It has 2 rings and what looks to be a magneto. (I'm really green) Any ideas? Thanks for any help!
Red Comet is offline Find More Posts by Red Comet
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
to remove ads between posts
Old 07-11-2010, 01:24 AM
Find More Posts by rcign
Bad-ass Super Contributor!
Williams, Az USA
Joined Jan 2006
2,439 Posts
Re: What Engine is This?

Very old very good 4.2 Sachs chainsaw conversion..Will outlast any plane you put it on..22-10 or 12 props work well...Also 24-8 and 10...
rcign is offline Find More Posts by rcign
Old 07-11-2010, 08:15 AM
Jeff W
Joined Apr 2010
17 Posts

Thank you very much! I was at a loss in matching it to pictures on the net. Not sure how old it is, but maybe from the late '80's. Since it's a single (higher vibration) and likely heavy (lead is mounted in the tail) I'm likely going to take it off in favor of something along the lines of a BME 100.
Old 07-11-2010, 08:22 AM
Find More Posts by JPal101
United States, NY, Richmond County
Joined Nov 2006
544 Posts

If the plane flew with it in the past, why not just try it as it is. It might be fun and you dont have to do all the extra work not to mention the expense.
JPal101 is offline Find More Posts by JPal101
Old 07-11-2010, 09:13 AM
Find More Posts by WangoTango
Conroe, Texas U.S.A.
Joined Feb 2007
4,904 Posts