logo
Old 03-14-2013, 08:23 PM
Find More Posts by Seminole
United States, MN, Elk River
Joined Dec 2011
178 Posts
Build Log
Redwing RC 50cc Sbach 342 build

Hi all. Long time lurker, first time poster. I figured I start things off with a bang and do a build thread...set the bar high for future lurkers

The background: My son and I have been flying RC planes for about 3 years. We've only flown electrics to this point and they've ranged from Sig Rascal 72 to eFlite Ultimate 20-300, to EDF's. So not only is this our first gas plane, its also our first giant size. My good buddy Gutzy did the RedWing RC - 30cc MXS-R build here on FG and introduced me to Tim and Redwing RC. I've been a fan of the Sbach for sometime. I love the curves and how it floats. When looking at all the options, I did the research, and found Redwing really had the best product. Even before purchasing, Tim answered questions I had and made me confident in Redwing and their customer service.

My son and I are far from a professional builders so we'll be taking our time and taking lots of pics as we go. I will do my best to provide pics to enhance the online manual and build videos.

First comment - the build video on line must have been completed using a prototpe because the control horns and tail gear appear to be different now...better. Fuse also looks a big bigger. All good.

I did the RED Deal...couldn't beat it with the sale!
I went with the DLE 55(not RA)
XQ Power 4020 Servos
Badger Switch
Optikill (ordering shortly)
Aurora 9(ordering shortly)
3000mah LIFE
So on to the build.

The plane arrived from Redwing to Minnesota in 4 days. Only minor damage in transit.
Seminole is offline Find More Posts by Seminole
Last edited by Seminole; 03-15-2013 at 12:58 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
to remove ads between posts
Old 03-14-2013, 08:30 PM
Joined Dec 2011
178 Posts
Unpacking the Sbach

The plane is packed very well and the quality of the covering is the best I have ever seen.